Lollapalooza: I survived (but estimate that 75k+ pairs of shoes did not)

For the fourth year in a row, I spent the weekend in Chicago for Lollapalooza. I wouldn’t miss it. In fact, I ended up frantically scouring the internet for tickets to this year’s sold out 20th Anniversary celebration because I didn’t anticipate it selling out. Thankfully, someone from Facebook Marketplace came through with a three day pass for the weekend at a reasonable price.

The weather was gorgeous all weekend until about 5pm on Sunday when all one hundred thousand of us or so were drenched in a summer thunderstorm/torrential downpour. The park became a sloppy, muddy mess. Click on the images to the right to browse those on my flickr. While the rain put a damper on our comfort, it made for some amazing people watching.

I couldn’t take my Nikon into the park, so I managed to get by with my camera phone. My Samsung Vibrant does a surprisingly decent job, for a phone. One of these years, my Nikon will go with me or I’ll pick up one of the great new DSLRs sans removable lens. There are plenty of great spots that don’t allow professional cameras but do allow those! Some of those cameras do a pretty good job, to be honest. If I have to be without my beloved Nikon, I’d gladly settle for one of those.

Did you attend Lollapalooza or any other festivals this year? If so, what was your favorite place to people watch? Mine was the DJ tent, as I’m sure you can tell from my photos!

Also, I have mad respect for those left behind to clean up the park. On the bright side, I bet anyone going through there with a metal detector will make a fortune!

Leave a Reply

